How New Zealand supports qualification recognition in the Pacific

Find out what NZQA is doing to support improved recognition of qualifications in the Pacific.

The Pacific Agreement on Closer Economic Relations (PACER) Plus is an agreement connecting the Pacific region through trade and development.


The New Zealand Qualifications Authority is working with the governments of nine Pacific Island countries who are signatories to the PACER Plus Treaty. This project intends to improve labour mobility and employment opportunities for Pasifika peoples through improved qualifications recognition across the region, including with Australia and New Zealand. We are also working in partnership with the Educational Quality and Assessment Programme (EQAP) at the South Pacific Community on this project.

The countries involved are:

  • Cook Islands
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • Niue
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

For more information on this project please contact

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us