NZQA Board Members

The New Zealand Qualifications Authority is headed by a Board appointed by the Minister of Education. The Board brings experience from industry, community and education sectors.

Tracey Martin - Chair

Tracey Martin

Hon Tracey Martin was an Associate Minister of Education in the previous Government, as well as Minister for Children, Minister for Seniors, and Minister of Internal Affairs. She was a Member of Parliament for nine years between 2011 and 2020.

She is currently a member of the Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency Board and a Chartered Member of Institute of Directors New Zealand.

Board term commences: 1 October 2021. Expires 30 September 2024.

Pania Gray – Deputy Chair

Pania Gray

Pania Gray (Ngāpuhi) holds a number of governance roles, including as a board member for the New Zealand Film Commission and member of the Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington Council. She was previously Deputy Chair for the Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities and member of the New Zealand Council for Educational Research. She also has extensive governance experience in the not-for-profit and private sectors.

Board term commences: 1 October 2021. Expires: 30 September 2024.

Jeremy Baker

Jeremy Baker

Jeremy Baker was the Chair of the ministerial advisory group providing advice to the Minister of Education on the changes to NCEA. He is currently the Chief Executive of Muka Tangata - People, Food and Fibre Workforce Development Council. He has held senior roles in industry, government and education including previously as Chief Insight Officer at Beef + Lamb New Zealand, Deputy Vice-chancellor for Lincoln University, and Executive Director of the Industry Training Federation.

Board term commences: 1 October 2021. Expires 30 September 2024.

Mary Chamberlain

WWW M Chamberlain

Mary is a successful leader of educational reform. From 2001-2011 she led a large team in the New Zealand Ministry of Education to design strategies to improve teaching, learning and student outcomes. From 2004-2007 she led the development of the New Zealand Curriculum for primary and secondary schools and the design of National Standards in literacy and numeracy from 2010-2012. Mary is currently a director of an independent consultancy company, Evaluation Associates Ltd.

Mary has in-depth knowledge and up to date experience in designing strategies to bring about effective change in education. She holds an Executive Master's degree in Public Administration and in 2012 she became a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to education.

Board term commenced: 13 September 2016. Expires 16 September 2022.

Grant Cleland

Grant Cleland has over 30 years’ experience supporting disabled people and their whānau. He has held a range of management and other roles with services in tertiary education, employment, social work, health, contracting and auditing, at national and local levels.

Born with a physical impairment and using a wheelchair for mobility from childhood, Grant brings both lived and professional experience of disability.

Grant also has extensive experience in Governance, Leadership and Social Change, Project Management, Strategic Planning and Training. In particular, he has specialist expertise in employment, transition and tertiary education for disabled people.

Board term commences: 1 October 2021. Expires 30 September 2024.

Roger Moses

Roger MosesRoger Moses is an experienced educator and well-respected for his school leadership, notably for his 23 years as Headmaster of Wellington College. He has been the Chair of the NCEA Professional Advisory Group providing advice on the changes to NCEA and will bring valuable knowledge onto the Board. Roger was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to education in 2020.

Board term commences: 8 November 2021. Expires 7 November 2024.

Lyn Provost

WWW L Provost

Lyn was Controller and Auditor General for eight years. Prior to that she was Deputy Commissioner of New Zealand Police. Lyn has also held roles in the State Services Commission and as Acting Chief Archivist and Chief Executive of Archives New Zealand. Lyn is currently the Chair of the Guardian of the Alexander Turnbull Library and the Advisory Group for the Brian Picot Chair of Ethical Leadership at Victoria University of Wellington. She also serves on the International Auditing and Assurance Board (IAASB), Transparency International New Zealand, Advisory Panel advising the Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security and Education New Zealand.

Lyn holds a BCA from Victoria University of Wellington and is a Chartered Accountant (FCA).  In 2017 she became a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to the state.

Board term commenced: 8 November 2018. Expires 7 November 2024. 

Cheryl de la Rey

Professor Cheryl de la Rey is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canterbury. Through this role, she is a member of the New Zealand Vice-Chancellors’ Committee. Cheryl also serves on the Association of Commonwealth Universities’ Pacific Regional Committee and held notable roles in South Africa, including being Chief Executive of the Council on Higher Education and Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria.

She holds a MA and PhD in Psychology, specialising in Social Psychology. Cheryl started her career as a secondary teacher and then moved up the academic ranks into executive management. Her recent publications focus on gender and leadership in higher education and science.

Board term commenced: 2 July 2020. Expires 1 July 2023.

Antony Royal

WWW A Royal

Antony has strong community involvement and a background in the Information and Communication Technology industry. He holds a degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Auckland University, has spent many years in the ICT industry and currently holds a number of governance positions. He also chairs Te Mana o Kupe Trust, which was established to support the cluster of 13 schools in Porirua East whose focus is to deliver greater educational achievement by engaging tamariki, teachers and whanau through the use of technology.

Previous roles have included Global Infrastructure Manager and Web Initiatives Manager for the NZ Dairy Board (Fonterra), implementation of financial management systems for a number of different government Departments, and positions on a number of advisory boards. Antony has been involved in many projects that involve technology and better educational outcomes.

Board term commenced: 13 September 2016. Expires 16 September 2022.

Lili Tuioti

Aiolupotea Lili Tuioti has extensive experience in the education sector in New Zealand and the Pacific region. She established a private consultancy business TKC and Teuila Consultancy in 2000. This focused on Pacific teacher and school management professional development, school-community liaison in New Zealand, Pacific regional projects in curriculum and assessment reform, education strategic planning and governance training.

As an education and strategic advisor to the Government of Tokelau for over 10 years, Lili served as a member on the University of the South Pacific Council and the Pacific Board of Education and Assessment. She returned to New Zealand in 2015 and is currently the Mission Services Manager at the Salvation Army Newtown Centre. She has held various governance roles in the education and community sectors, including the Teachers’ Council, AUT Council and the ASB Community Trust. Lili currently serves on the JR McKenzie Trust and was an establishment Board of Trustees member for the Pacific Advance Secondary School.

Board term commenced: 16 September 2019. Expires 16 September 2022.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us