Top Art Exhibition schedule

Aria Stoneham, John Paul College


Show:  Top Art homepage  |  Visual Arts homepage

The Top Art Exhibition travels the country until October as three tours. In previous years there were two tours, known as the Northern and Southern tour, or Tour One and Tour Two, but in 2023 things have come together a little differently, so we have expanded the exhibition to three tours named Pohutukawa, Pīwakawaka and Kauri.

A list of students featured on each tour can be found below:

Please contact individual venues to confirm opening times and availability.

Note that installation / de-installation time may be required and restrictions may apply.

Pohutukawa (Northern North Island + Christchurch)

27 February - 9 March

Wellington

Massey University
Level C, Te Ara Hihiko Block 12

Contact: Rachel Walton
R.Walton@massey.ac.nz
(Open on weekdays from 10am - 4pm)

20 March - 31 March

Auckland

Rosehill College

Contact: Melissa Powell
m.powell@rosehill-college.co.nz
09 295 0661

3 April - 14 April

Christchurch

Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū

Contact: 
Education and Learning Specialist
schools@christchurchartgallery.org.nz
(03) 941 7373

17 April - 5 May

Auckland

Te Tuhi

Contact: Briana Woolliams
briana@tetuhi.art

8 May - 19 May

Auckland

Long Bay

Contact: Liese Strong
LStrong@lbc.school.nz
09 477 9009 extn 893 

22 May - 2 June

Auckland

Kaipara College

Contact: Jo Mears
jmears@kaipara.school.nz
09 420 8640 x 823

5 June - 16 June

Auckland

Westlake Girls' High School

Contact: Elyse Heslop
Main Line: 09 489 4169

19 June - 30 June

Warkworth

Onehunga High School

Contact: Anthony Clark
aclark@ohs.school.nz
09 636 6006

17 July - 21 July

Warkworth

Mahurangi College

Contact: Nyree Norrington
n.norrington@mahurangi.school.nz
09 425 8039 ext 730 

24 July - 4 August

Kaitaia

Kaitaia College

Contact: Jen Benavides
jbenavides@kaitaiacollege.school.nz

7 August - 18 August

Kerikeri

Kerikeri High School

Contact: Emma Wise
EWise@kerikerihigh.ac.nz

28 August - 1 September

Pukekohe

Pukekohe High School

Contact: Caleb Bell and Marne Hendriks Phone: 09-237 0117

4 September - 15 September

Whangarei

Whangarei Girls' High School

Contact: Asheligh Zimmerman 09-430 4460

Pīwakawaka (Southern North Island)

27 February - 9 March

Wellington

Massey University
Level C, Te Ara Hihiko Block 12

Contact: Rachel Walton
R.Walton@massey.ac.nz
(Open on weekdays from 10am - 4pm)

20 March - 31 March

Gisborne

Tairāwhiti Museum

Contact:  Te Manuhuia Paenga
mpaenga@tairawhitimuseum.org.nz
(06) 867 3832 ext 810

3 April - 14 April

Tauranga

Tauranga Art Gallery

Contact: Melissa McDonald
education@artgallery.org.nz
07 579 0627

17 April - 5 May

Hastings

Hastings City Art Gallery

Contact: katrinam@hdc.govt.nz
06 871 5095   

8 May - 19 May

Masterton

Aratoi - Wairarapa Museum of Art and History

Contact: Susanna Shadbolt
susanna@aratoi.co.nz

22 May - 2 June

Napier

Eastern Institute of Technology

Contact: James Smith
jsmith@eit.ac.nz

6 June - 14 June

New Plymouth

Govett-Brewster Art Gallery

Contact: Chris Barry
Chris.Barry@npdc.govt.nz
06 759 0858

19 June - 7 July

Palmerston North

Te Manawa

Contact:  Talei Langley
talei.langley@temanawa.co.nz
0800 4268 7386

10 July- 28 July

Porirua

Pātaka Museum and Gallery

Contact: Josie Whelan
Josie.Whelan@poriruacity.govt.nz
04 237 1512

31 July - 11 August

Auckland

Dilworth School

Contact: Jenny Song
j.song@dilworth.school.nz

14 August - 25 August

Rotorua

Te Aka Mauri
(Rotorua Library and Health Hub)

Contact: Rebecca Moore
rebecca.moore@rotorualc.nz
07 351 7829

28 August - 8 September

Whanganui

UCOL -Edith Gallery
School Creative Humanities and Business

Contact: Victoria Campbell
v.campbell@ucol.ac.nz

Kauri (South Island)

27 February - 9 March Wellington Massey University
Level C, Te Ara Hihiko Block 12
Contact: Rachel Walton
R.Walton@massey.ac.nz
(Open on weekdays from 10am - 4pm)
20 March - 31 March Wanaka Mt Aspiring College Contact: Bea Derrick derrickb@mtaspiring.school.nz
3 April - 14 April Otago Central Otago District Arts Trust Contact:  Rebekah de Jong
coordinator@centralotagoarts.com
8 May - 19 May Marlborough Marlborough Boys' College  Contact:  Deborah Cave-Higgins
deb.cave-higgins@mbc.school.nz
22 May - 2 June Timaru  Craighead Diocesan School  Contact:  Gala Kirke
kirkega@craighead.school.nz
03 688 6074
5 June - 16 June Nelson The Suter Art Gallery  Contact:  Julie Catchpole
julie@thesuter.org.nz
19 June - 30 June Otago School of Art - College of Creative Practice and Enterprise - Otago Polytechnic   Contact: De-Arn Buchhol
de-arn.buchholz@op.ac.nz
0800 762 786
17 July - 28 July Invercargill James Hargest College  Contact: Denise Judson
djudson@jameshargest.school.nz
31 July - 11 August Tapanui Blue Mountains College  Contact: Vicky  Crawford  
vcrawford@bmc.school.nz
14 August - 25 August Greymouth  Greymouth High School Contact: Philippa Mallinson 
philippamallinson@icloud.com 
28 August - 22 September Auckland Whitecliffe Art Gallery  Contact: Michael McClanaghan
michaelm@whitecliffe.ac.nz

 

 
Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us newzealand.govt.nz