Statutory declarations

NZQA rules require tertiary education organisations to provide NZQA with an annual statutory declaration. This declaration attests that the organisation is complying with their obligations under the Education and Training Act 2020 (the Act) and NZQA Rules.

From 18 August 2017, statutory declarations must be submitted within five months of the end of the financial year of the organisation (see Section 16 of the Quality Assurance (including External Evaluation and Review (EER)) Rules 2022).

Forms for annual statutory declaration

- Te Pūkenga
- Transitional Industry Training Organisations
- Wānanga
- Government Training Establishments
TEI annual statutory declaration form (PDF, 116KB)
- Private training establishments (PTE) PTE annual statutory declaration form (PDF, 153KB)

Additional requirements for private training establishments

Under the PTE Registration Rules 2022, governing members of PTEs must submit statutory declarations as a fit and proper person and conflicts of interest.

Who needs to sign the declaration?

Statutory declarations must be signed by the chief executive or the chair of the governing body of the tertiary education organisation. The declarations can be signed in front of anyone authorised to take a statutory declaration (see section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957).

These people include:

  • barristers and solicitors of the High Court of New Zealand
  • Justices of the Peace
  • notary publics
  • Registrars and Deputy Registrars of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court and District Courts.

Please note that it is an offence under section 111 of the Crimes Act 1961 to make a false declaration where that declaration would amount to perjury if made on oath in a judicial proceeding.

How do you submit the declaration to NZQA?

See the form for the different ways your organisation can submit it to NZQA.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us