Top Scholar Awards Ceremony

New Zealand Scholarship examinations assess students against challenging standards and are demanding for the most able students.

NZQA celebrated the success of 2022's highest-achieving New Zealand Scholarship students at the annual Top Scholar Awards Ceremony hosted at Parliament on 10 May 2023.

The awards recognised the elite students who make up the 2022 Premier Award and Top Subject Scholarship Award winners.

The Prime Minister of New Zealand, Rt Hon Chris Hipkins, announced the recipient of the Prime Minister’s Award for Academic Excellence: Michael Yao, formerly of Auckland Grammar School.

Watch a recording of the event here.

Top Scholars Awards winners 2022

Previous Top Scholars Awards winners

2021 2020
2019 2018
2017 2016
2015 2014
2013 2012
2011 2010

To find the scripts, where available, refer to the subject resources page for each subject.

For further details of each year's Scholarship results, see the Annual Reports on NCEA & New Zealand Scholarship Data & Statistics.

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us