Literacy and Numeracy unit standards


January 2022 - Revision of Literacy and Numeracy unit standards

NZQA National Qualifications Services (NQS) revised the current Literacy and Numeracy unit standards.

The Ministry of Education has developed new Literacy and Numeracy standards as part of the change package for the National Certificates in Educational Achievement (NCEA) (refer below for more information). Therefore they were not reviewed but were revised to prolong their currency, for review when the Ministry’s new standards are introduced.  The next planned review date is 2025.

The revision addressed known issues, including transferring the standards to the new format and removing the reference to the digital assessment tool from standards 26623 and 26624.

The revised standards are available at Domain - Work and Study Skills (

Details are available in the Revision and rollover of Work and Study Skills unit standards change report.

Further information is available from

Proposed new assessment standards

As part of the National Certificate in Educational Achievement (NCEA) Change Package, new English-medium Literacy and Numeracy assessment standards have been developed by the Ministry of Education (MoE) and are being piloted during 2021. Further information is available at the MoE’s Citizen Space website.

Resources and links

Completed review

May 2017 – Review of Literacy and Numeracy unit standards

Details are available in the May 2017 Review of Literacy and Numeracy unit standards change report.


For more information and/or comments regarding these unit standards, please email:

Skip to main page content Accessibility page with list of access keys Home Page Site Map Contact Us